A week ago I was facing gale force wind  in minus 5 degrees and snow was defying gravity.

Today was an amazing day.
Left Bristol before 8 and climbed up past Lulsgate.

The Sun was most definitely out and the wind was fluttering flags in all the right directions.


Easy riding down to Taunton where a few people sponsored me when I stopped to eat at a Garden centre!

Big climbs past Tiverton over Cadbury but sublime descents through patchwork of devonian fields and hills. Big smiles.

Joined the A30 at Okehampton and cycled along that to my last stop for the day at Bodmin. Two punctures just before sunset didn't even manage to taint today... Big 140miler ...60miles to the finish line tomorrow and then Will be getting a train back arriving Bristol Temple Meads at 8pm. Some drinks will be following this at the Pipe and Slippers. Certainment.

Ate dinner in a hotel I stopped at in Bodmin and was served by the reincarnation of Cybil Fawlty.... The look. The scorn. The hospitality. The lot.



Picture
A little anecdote from today...

A few days ago, some friends pledged £100 if I could glitter a stranger's beard... Here's a lovely story...

Meet Jock and John.
Stopped to take some cash out in Taunton and bought a big issue from Jock. Got talking about my charity ride and the reasons for it. Sadly his friend's- John-sister and brother had passed away last year. And he was so sorry to hear of my family's loss.

Understandably, he was unable to sponsor me but loved the idea of being able to help by having his beard glittered.

John told me that Jock was quite the character around town and often gets involved in charity events.

He was really moved to be able to help me raise almost £100 and wanted details of my site in case anyone he talked to wanted to donate too.

Thank you Jock...








jackie Hawkins
2/4/2013 08:00:28 am

What a whooper of a ride today, I thought when are you going to stop! the marker kept moving, what energy and determination . I have been watching the little marker on your tracker every day from the start. I f i have been out and unable to get to my laptop I have watched from my mobile. almost at the finish after your 140 miles today. I have enjoyed reading the blogs except the hard times when you were unwell . some lovely pictures . Claire would be so proud of you and what you have achieved, Enjoy the ride tomorrow i hope the sun is shining all the way to lands End :) Jackie x

Reply
Bron
2/4/2013 08:45:20 am

The end is in sight! What a great ride that must have been today! I kept wondering as the evening drew on when you were going to stop. Have a wonderful trip on the final miles tomorrow. Will be thinking of you on those roads as I know Cornwall well from my youth.

Reply
A. Jill
2/4/2013 02:09:33 pm

Mark, Mark, Mark - you're zooming along. About time the force was with you. I'm so relieved its nearly over... Love the story of Jock, his beard and you couldn't have had a better candidate. Home tomorrow to beers and celebrations - yea! Have a super run tomorrow. xx

Reply
Sarah Mason
2/4/2013 04:10:15 pm

So pleased your well, sorry missed you in Bristol. Thank goodness the end is now in sight for you, all your friends and family so proud. Take care enjoy your well deserved drinks and enjoy the rest of the hols.

Reply
Leo, Elliot, Julia, Simon Tilley
2/4/2013 05:24:11 pm

Hope today is everything you want it to be, have fab last day, well done mr s, love from the Tilleys.

Reply
Eliz Miller
2/4/2013 05:45:46 pm

You're nearly there... keep pedalling to the end and I know you will with your determination & power. Hope you enjoy the final miles and also the very well deserved celebrations tonight!!! A pity I'm unable to track you to the end but my signal here is so unreliable. Much love Eliz

Reply
Claire March
2/4/2013 06:06:39 pm

Well done Mark
Hope it all feels like downhill now!

Reply
Matt gait
3/4/2013 12:26:47 am

Well done mark

Reply
Jefferies family
3/4/2013 12:52:44 am

You did it! Well done - fantastic last 3 days. Have a great time celebrating tonight - you still have 4 days left to recover (from exhaustion and tonight's hangover) before school starts.

Reply
Sarah,Lilyand Neo
3/4/2013 12:55:24 am

Well Done Mr S you did it

Reply
John & Liz
3/4/2013 02:05:18 am

Congratulations on splendid achievement - hope first day back at school not too arduous !

Reply
Trudy, Aaron & Beth
3/4/2013 02:07:10 am

An amazing achievement! We're so proud... xxx:)

Reply
BRAD
25/4/2013 08:20:00 pm

UR BIKES THERE WERE R U !!!!!!!!!

Reply
Cloe cottrell
25/4/2013 08:24:02 pm

Lol x :D
(\_/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")@

Reply
harris mitchel
25/4/2013 08:47:46 pm

well done well done

Reply
anonymus
25/4/2013 08:58:10 pm

yo! i am saying hi to mr s my teatcher but witch one of us was it wooooo.

Reply



Leave a Reply.