Woke up with an actual appetite for food. Finished the first meal for 36hours and was actually looking forward to a gentle 20mile ride over Shap to Kendal.

Some beautiful scenery on both sides but as I thought some of you may be getting bored of such scenic photos, I included one of my bike on a hay bale in front of a quarry. Very avant garde.

The nine mile climb up Shap wasn't too bad at all and seeing as my beloved racing bike has jade such a bleak and slowly plodding few days we both enjoyed the treat of racing down the other side, on an open and quiet road with the sun shining and not a hint of snow at 43mph... Nnneeeeoo! (Well below the 60 speed limit.)

Arrived in Kendal just as the schools closed for holidays... A man with a gold glittery beard cycling through town obviously went down well with their end of term mood... Lots of laughs and smiles.

Ate lunch just outside Kendal and decided to launch a new fundraising initiative...
Glitter someone else's beard... Or give them a glitter beard if they don't have one.
Already had £85 pledged on Facebook... If you want to see a photo of me with a complete stranger who I have convinced to glitter their beard... Pledge an amount below in the blog  comments. When the deed is done, I ask you to please then donate your pledged amount via my donation page.
...I promise to go ALL out on this one.

Mood mahooosively improved, cycled into Garstang ... Just under 80miles on my supposed rest day means I'm now only a day off schedule.
Bristol by Saturday.

The wonderful and beautiful Danie, who I've missed so much, is meeting me tomorrow night so please do not expect the usual long winded, then this happened, then this happened... account of tomorrow's ride!

And I'll leave you all with this... Forget the Mars Rover... THIS is where technology is at-

Phone on waterproof mount on handlbars. GPS uploads location to website. Anyone can track my progress. Mum's been following closely...
Phone beeps and message appears...
"Are you sure you're going the right way? Love Mum"

Stop and turn around bike- already an extra 10miles added onto the day's ride... Potentially 30miles saved though.

Thanks Mum!

Attached are photos of silhouette of my bike in the fading Sun on a North Yorkshire wall, the view after Shap fell, bike on hay and the gold glittered beard.


Matthew Smith
28/3/2013 06:21:22 pm

Glad to hear you're feeling better, I hope it continues. Love the photo of your shadow. See you on Saturday in Bristol. matthew

Reply
Mark Hubberstey
28/3/2013 06:26:44 pm

Keep going fella - not far now, especially thanks to your mum. Aren't mum's the best :-)

You could say instead of a Tom Tom, you have your Mum Mum!

Enjoy your ride into Bristol, I'm sure it'll be a fantastic boost for the last few legs. Keep on pedalling - your trip is truly inspirational.

Reply
Eliz Miller
28/3/2013 10:25:18 pm

So glad you're on the up and feeling better - I'm sure Danie will give yo even more inspiration. Love the photo of your bike in shadow on the wall - brilliant. Great you've inspired other bearded folk with glitter and then to raise even more funds.Go go go.... Bristol will be sight soon....

Reply
A. Jill
29/3/2013 01:44:48 am

Ahhh.. you're feeling better and kudos to Nicola!!! We see everything late coz of 8hrs behind, but I wondered about that jog in your path - just loved that A65 too much eh? Have a wonderful ride today and love to Danie. Bristol tomorrow - yea only one day behind after all those trials you've been through... lovely, lovely, lovely!

Reply
John J
29/3/2013 03:01:28 am

Hi Mark, so glad you are feeling better - must be the Scots diet! Love the shadow photo (early morn or late eve?). Keep on pedaling.

Reply
Carina & Family
29/3/2013 04:08:09 am

Glad you are feeling much better, stay safe for the rest of your journey. You are doing a fantastic job for a great cause.

Reply



Leave a Reply.